

## State of Utah DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE Office of Consumer Services

MICHELE BECK

To: The Public Service Commission of Utah

From: The Office of Consumer Services

Michele Beck Cheryl Murray

Date: October 25, 2010

Subject: Comments of the Office of Consumer Services Regarding the Public Service

Commission's Amended Order Circulating Edited Lifeline (UTAP) Program

Business Proposal For Final Comments Issued October 18, 2012.

Docket No. 10-2528-01.

The Office appreciates the efforts that have gone into creating this version of the edited Lifeline (UTAP) Program Draft Business Proposal and has only two comments.

- 1) Page 5 beginning at line 192 refers to an appeal request that must be received from a participant within 10 days of the de-enrollment notification letter date. The discussion on Resolution Process for Lifeline Participants does not include any other information that an appeal is only allowed within 10 days of the notification letter. The Office presumes that the referenced information regarding the appeal process that is to be provided to the participant with the notification letter will include this detail. However, we suggest that this discussion area be expanded to include the apparent requirement that an appeal must be received within 10 days of the notification letter.
- 2) Refer to page 13, line 476 § 54.409, line 484 § 54.400(e) and line 505 § 54.495(e)(4). Participants are required to certify under penalty of perjury that they comply with these statutes. The Office is uncertain as to how these requirements appear on the actual application form but as we have stated previously there should be adequate information on the application form for the participant to know what they are certifying that they comply with, not just statute numbers.